What I’ve been doing for the last 14 days…

14 Apr

I can’t believe it’s been so many days since my last post – it’s like the days simply fly by and I don’t realise where they are all going. It’s now Thursday night, and I am laid up in bed with a head cold – you know, one of those icky head-achy, sore throat, stuffy nose-type ones, which seem to come from nowhere and strike without warning, only to linger around for days without easing. But it’s the perfect excuse I need to write and post this, so no more encouragement needed!

Where life has taken me since my last post:

Have taken myself on a lovely little trip to Glasgow for shopping and bought home loads of goodies, including two pairs of shoes and a gorgeous tailored, very Mad Men-esque black dress. I have only been there a handful of times, but the city itself reminds me a lot of Sydney, and yes, the shopping is fab.

I have finally taken the plunge and both coloured and cut my hair. Getting past my fear of hairdressers and bad hair cuts once again and ending up with something I actually like has made me happier this week!

Have started to tackle the small pile of books that I have promised myself I will read this month. I am carrying a few over from last month, as time has been very limited, but I will get there!

Discovered TED! Full of inspirational talks and chock-a-block of ideas, the TED community is awesome if you are looking for something to make you think, see the world just a little bit differently, or inspire you in your own life. I have listened to a few talks already this week, choosing from a wide topic pool as beauty, politics, business, and science. My favourites have been listening to the inspirational story of Caroline Casey, a remarkable woman with a mind-blowing story who has taken a stand and made a difference despite all the odds, and that of Neil Pasricha, the creator of the totally awesome blog, 1000 Awesome Things.

Continue to write in my latest Moleskine notebook. I find that no matter how busy I am, I always find time to write in my notebook, and carry it with me absolutely everywhere – I just never know when I’m going to want to put pen to paper and either write or draw my ideas, especially when I know I’ll be anywhere near the vicinity of a cozy coffee shop. And this week has been a busy one for ideas! ( More on this one later!)

I have fallen in love with hummingbirds! I don’t know exactly how this came about, but I found a picture of a hummingbird in a magazine last week, and the image of the delicate little thing resonated with me in a very profound way. I have begun to find out as much as I can about these little birds,and have begun working on a series of illustrations of the little guys. I am still in the process of doing up my rough sketches!

Indulging in eating Pink Panther Vanilla Wafers – such a sweet, pink colour, and they taste delish too! And they have a picture of the Pink Panther on the packaging – so childish, but if there is another reason to buy these, then that would be it!

Have been busily looking for my next crafting project. And with the discovery of quilted notebook covers, such as this one that I found on the awesome blog Faerie Acres  ( there are a few others on here as well), I think I may have found the it! I am totally in love with the sweet patchwork and frills!

Work – alas, this one never changes! But I do consider myself lucky in that I may possibly work the best railway route there is – the Edinburgh to Aberdeen line in Scotland. Stunning scenery accompanies us the whole 2.5 hour journey ( and back!) as the train snakes it’s way north up the Scottish coast, and I have been keeping a look-out for seals basking in the sunlight. No luck yet, but there is always hope!

As the week progresses, I hope to blog on my progress on all the little things I have just mentioned, and hopefully this time the amount of time between posts will be considerably less!

Leave a Reply

