Another Month, Another Book or 4….and a magazine!

3 Mar

So, here is my reading list for the month of March. I admit I didn’t get to read all the books on my list for February – I’m still working my way through the Nick Hornby book The Complete Polysyllabic Spree ( which is an awesomely funny book about….books and reading – I’m so glad I stumbled across it!).  This month, while this list may be a little ambitious in the amount of books I am going to attempt ( for me anyway – I’m a sloooowww reader), I have chosen them according to how I am feeling today – inquisitive, thoughtful, in need of a little creative inspiration, and in the case of the last book, just plain curious!

1.  Harry, A History: The True Story of a Boy Wizard, His Fans, and Life Inside the Harry Potter Phenomenon – Melissa Anelli

I have chosen this book because of my love of the HP series, and even though I have read and re-read the series, I need to get another fix – and this book comes as close to a fix as I am going to get. Written by the woman – or ‘webmistress’ as the blurb describes her -of dedicated Potter website The Leaky Cauldron, and an intro by J.K Rowling herself, this promises to be a good read.

 

2. The Witch of Portobello – Paulo Coelho

Since reading Like The Flowing River last month, and finding a lot of inspiration between its pages, I am going to try and read at least one Coelho book per month. I love his work that much! And if I keep it up, I will have read his entire backlog of books by the end of the year – a bigger geek than me you will not find!

 

3. A Wild Sheep Chase – Haruki Murakami

I always wonder why I haven’t read more of his books – The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle is one of my favourite books ever, and After Dark kept me awake on one of my many long-haul flights around the globe. So I’ve added this one – the New Yorker describes it as both a detective novel and screwball comedy in same sentence, and when the character list on the back cover  includes a young girl with exquisite ears, a run-away friend, a right-wing politician, an ovine-obsessed professor, and ( the clincher for me) a manic-depressive in a sheep outfit, you could say I’m more than sold on the book.

4. Wondering If You’ll Ever Meet Him: A Revolutionary Approach For Putting The Date Back Into Dating – Ryan Browning Cassaday and Jessica Cassaday Ph.D

This will get read out of curiosity. Having already read such books as He’s Just Not Into You ( the movie was so much better! Thanks Bradley Cooper and Justin Long!), and Men Are From Mars, Women Are from Venus, and not really getting much out of either, I don’t know what I’m expecting. But I’m a single woman, so I figure  another book about dating can’t hurt. Not much anyway.

 

5. The lastest issue of Lonely Planet magazine!

Simply because I need to get my monthly fix of beautiful places to add to the wish-list!

 

 

 

Have any of you guys read any of these books? Any comments you’d like to share?

2 Responses to “Another Month, Another Book or 4….and a magazine!”

  1. Alex L. March 10, 2011 at 1:36 am #

    Hahaha, I like your thinly-veiled skepticism of #4. I started reading “The Five Love Languages” and am thinking of stopping. I’m skeptical of all of this theorizing about love; it’s not such simple stuff.

    • Miss K March 17, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      I think real love is simple, so why people have to complicate it, analyse it and pick it apart is beyond me! I haven’t got around to the book yet, so I am yet to have an opinion..

Leave a Reply

