Top Ten Books I just HAD to buy….But are still sitting on my bookshelf

1 Mar

I am guilty of buying too many books that I fully intend to read at the time, but that always end up on the shelf. Here is a list of my Top Ten.

1. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell – Susanna Clarke

The idea of the story interests me – the length puts me off. I just look at it, and it makes me want to put it straight back down again. Pretty illustrations though.

2. Moby Dick – Herman Melville

For the same reason as above. I would love to get past the fear of the length of it – I am no stranger to long and complex books when I have the time to read them ( Don’t start what you can’t finish! My brain screams at me ) but this one also evades me. Maybe it’s not the length. Maybe it’s the subject matter.  I was drawn to buy it by it’s iconic opening line ‘Call me Ishmael’ , which I think is one of the best opening lines in English literature, despite never having read past page one.

3. American Gods – Neil Gaiman

I bought this on recommendations from everyone and his dog. And can’t seem to get past the end of chapter one (which ends with a scene that totally killed whatever I thought the book had going for me, sorry!). One day I will read this just to say I read it, but for now, back to the shelf it goes.

4. Supernatural: Meetings with the Ancient Teachers of Mankind – Graham Hancock

I bought this because it looked so interesting, with it’s pretty cover, colour photographs of shamanic paintings, and it’s fascinating subject matter. Again, the length of it has stopped me ever reading it. I’ll take it down every once in a while, maybe one day I’ll get around to actually opening it and reading those first words, in the hope they will sweep me through it’s 800 odd pages swiftly and without ( too much) pain.

5. American Psycho – Bret Easton Ellis

I guess I bought this just because it was sold shrink-wrapped in plastic, and I was asked for ID at the sales counter! I had every intention of reading it, until I randomly opened the book and read the scene where a poor dog gets both paws crushed by the main character. That was all I needed to read to put the book away for good.

6. The Fabric of the Cosmos – Brian Greene

The only reason I haven’t read this is because I sent my copy back home to Australia when I landed in the UK before I’d had a chance to read it! Quantam physics, cosmology, time, space, and the mysteries of the universe are a secret interest of  mine, so I have every intention of digging up a copy of this soon, along with his preceding work The Elegant Universe for a quick re-read. Fascinating.

7. The Second Sex – Simone De Beauvoir

I bought this in a market stall at the Waterlooplein Martket in Amsterdam, and was just excited to have found a book in English! I intended to start reading it on the (short) flight back to Scotland, but somehow never got around to it.

8. A Short History of Nearly Everything – Bill Bryson

I recently read his Notes From A Big Country, and found him to be a thoroughly entertaining writer – it’s taken me so long to discover I actually like his work.

9. Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood

I am a BIG fan of Margaret Atwood. Her novel, The Blind Assassin blew me away the first time I read it years ago, and ever since then I have enjoyed everything she has ever written without complaint. So it was only natural I bought this, I have just never read it.

10. The Almost Moon – Alice Sebold

Like Margaret Atwood’s book, I have no idea why this is on my list or why I’ve never read it. The Lovely Bones is one of my favourite books, and her autobiographical book Lucky is an inspirational story which engrossed me so much I read it in one sitting. I’ll get around to this one, one day.

4 Responses to “Top Ten Books I just HAD to buy….But are still sitting on my bookshelf”

  1. Vickie Ramage March 1, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    I have Jonathan Strange! It’s not on my list but I keep meaning to read it. I have tried but lord it is boring. XD

    • Miss K March 3, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

      And it reached #3 on the New York Time Bestseller List! lol. That’s one of the reason’s I bought it! And it’s also won a swag of awards! I have heard they are making a movie about it, or it has been made already – maybe that will be better. Then we can both pretend we actually read it before seeing the film 🙂

  2. Jen March 2, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    American Gods almost made my list! I think it would have been an honorable mention. I’ve heard mixed reviews- you either love it or hate it.

    Jen at The Broke and the Bookish

    • Miss K March 3, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      I’ve heard the mixed reviews too – I guess it just depends on what you like to read, and what mood you’re in at the time. There’s always hope for one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

