Abandoned Blog? Creativity Block…

19 Feb

I have a look at the dates on my blog-posts, and I can’t believe I have fallen off the blogging band-wagon – even if it has only been for 7 days. This past week has been very difficult for me, creative-wise, and I found that the first thing to go has been the regular writing of this blog. So I am making an effort, even if its to write a few lines, to prove to myself that even thought I am having a bit of a tough-busy-uninspired-creative-killer-mood time, and the last thing I feel like doing  is typing out the words I am now, I must keep going. Often I have heard it said that once you begin, the words just flow and you end up writing more than you thought you could possibly write – that your story, or in this case, blog-post, will write itself, and you will say what it is you needed to say.

At this moment, I don’t have much to say – I am sitting here, staring out the window, listening to Damien Rice ( an Irish singer who performs some of the most beautiful songs I have ever heard), and Moby, contemplating life, with an open copy of The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath by my side, my moleskine notebook to record my favorite passages, and of course my laptop open, where I am both typing this, and sporadically working on an autobiographical piece for my writing class. This is also not coming together. I have been writing it for the better part of a week, and all I have managed is 800 words and  not much else. Now, this is not usually like me – I can usually type out as much as I can speak, which is often a never-ending stream of words, that no matter how jumbled and nonsensical they seem, I can always manage to at least edit them into something intelligible, but with this piece I am suffering a severe case of writers block. Nothing wants to be written, nothing wants to run together, words simply do not want to link hands and sprint to my finish line. So I will sit here some more, and listen to some more music, and wait patiently for my inspiration to strike.

If anyone else has been coming up against creative hurdles, or has any suggestions to overcome them, I would love to hear from you!

2 Responses to “Abandoned Blog? Creativity Block…”

  1. Alex L. February 19, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Don’t abandon your blog (or the post a day challenge)!

    I feel like the blog-article is a special beast which is very challenging to master (I am by no means an expert at it). You have to be both informal and casual while at the same time unique and insightful in a way that differentiates you from the millions of other voices online.

    What I found works best for me lately is to couch a message or an idea that I’ve been thinking about over the course of the week in a very-short story form. Personal narratives done well almost always draw people in.

    Good luck and keep at it!

    • Miss K February 22, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      Thanks for your advice! It has been so hard to keep this going at the moment, but I will not abandon! I agree that the blog article is a challenge – too short and it comes across like you have made no effort, but too long and it can seem like an essay that will make it an effort for others to read – and you definitely have a point about the informal -casual / unique insightful issues.

      I will just have to keep going? 🙂

Leave a Reply

