Reading List for February

8 Feb

My reading list for February:

1. Street Knowledge by King Adz

Have been wanting to read this for ages! And finally bought a copy last week. It’s both a history, and an in-depth look, at urban and street culture – from it’s humble beginnings to the present day, and covering such diverse aspects as art, graffiti, music, design, and fashion. Looks like a ripper read, and with all its glossy pages filled with creative inspiration, I can’t wait to get stuck into it.

2. Like The Flowing River by Paulo Coelho

I have loved Paulo Coelho since I read The Alchemist two years ago, and since then have discovered much of myself within the pages of his books. I noticed this book today, and while flipping through it, read a section towards the back which made me think this may be the thing for me to read at this particular time.

 

3. The Complete Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby

I picked this up randomly, and being a big fan of books about other books, think this could be a good read. Having read About A Boy, and High Fidelity ( due for a revisit soon), I have every reason to believe this could be very entertaining.

 

 

4. Angela Carter’s Book of Fairy Tales

Carrying over from my reading list from January, I have finally started this. And hopefully will be able to finish it! Angela Carter’s world is filled with fairies, witches, sorceresses, and wicked women, and this book suits my current mood perfectly.

4 Responses to “Reading List for February”

  1. Alex L. February 9, 2011 at 12:57 am #

    I’m planning to read Jay-Z’s “Decoded”, which is along the lines of your #1 but is more specifically about street culture and hip hop. That’s after I finish plodding through George W. Bush’s recent autobiography, “Decision Points”. I think I have an idea of which of those two I will have enjoyed more than the other.

  2. Miss K February 10, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    lol I could have a guess about the one you’ll be enjoying the most. Let me know if Decoded is any good – I’ve vagueky heard of it, but not much about it. I am very into street culture and art ( though I know it doesn’t come out much in this blog!)

  3. hakea February 24, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    Going to check out Paul Coelho based on your recommendation. Thanks.

    • Miss K February 24, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

      I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

