I Am Who I Am

5 Feb

‘I’. So simple, yet so complex, one who holds so much power, the only one I can really know, deeply, but not without question, or uncertainty. This is something I have had to confront in my personal life many times, and just when I thought I had figured this out ( for the time being at least!) something happens to make me feel the need to revisit this again. The following is a gentle reminder to myself of who I really am, at this precise moment in time.

I am a woman. I am a daughter, a sister, a friend, myself. I am my past, my present, my future. I am a traveler, a dreamer, one who can sit for hours, staring out my window at the pouring rain and rushing wind, be silent, be still, but not quiet, for my soul stirs with you, soars with you, deep into the night. I am a lover of music, of art, an admirer of beauty, of nature, the simple, fantastic, delicate, the unique, a whirlwind of color, of sound, I embrace life with arms open wide. I am one who greets the morning light with a grateful heart, I am here, I am alive, I am purpose, I am joy, another new beginning in my life. I am my hopes, my plans, my dreams for a better future. I am kind-hearted, generous, affectionate, sincere. I am also moody, temperamental, impatient, and dismissive, but I am accepting of my faults as I am of my virtues. I am curious by nature, I want to know what I don’t understand, what is outside my experience. I am a lover of knowledge, of books, of ideas, I am one who can keep an open-mind. I am also destruction, a tumultuous confusion, chaos inside chaos, a raging storm, an insatiable sea, antagonistic to the very end. Stubborn. I am the one who asks, who seeks, who knocks, often afraid of what I might find, shrinking back into the shadows, be still my beating heart. Despite this, I am learning, to find my courage, to take up my warrior’s shield, to venture into the unknown, to discover my essence, let it cascade and flow free, uninhibited and pure, and like the tallest tree and the smallest seed, to find the strength to simply be. I am love. I am spirit.

This may not be what I was yesterday, this may not be what I will be tomorrow. This is who I am today.

‘The Absolute Truth is that the ‘I’ is perfect and complete, the real ‘I’ is spiritual and can therefore never be less than perfect, it can never have any lack, limitation, or disease’ – Charles Haamel

6 Responses to “I Am Who I Am”

  1. hakea February 5, 2011 at 6:56 am #

    beautifully written, from the heart

    • Miss K February 7, 2011 at 1:03 am #

      Thank you šŸ™‚ It’s simply a reflection on how I felt the other day

  2. Alex L. February 9, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    That phrase, “I am who I am” reminded me of Tennyson’s line from his poem “Ulysses” – “that which we are, we are” – though there he was arguing for the permanence of identity while you are saying it’s transitory. Cool!

  3. kloppenmum February 27, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Didn’t someone, far cleverer than I, say: change is the only constant. It’s my inability to be fluid that trips me up every time. Lovely post, pleased hakea put it on her list.

    • Miss K March 1, 2011 at 3:13 am #

      Thank you šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

