Top Ten Tuesday – Best Debut Novels

1 Feb

My Top Ten Best Debut novels:

1. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K Rowling

This was the first children’s / young adult book I read as an adult, and while some would argue that this wasn’t the strongest HP book, to me this remains one of the greatest debuts novels ever – without the success of this one, the rest of the series would have flopped.

2. The Secret History by Donna Tartt

This is one of my favourite books – I read it years ago, and found it spell-binding from the outset – it is extremely well written. I particularly love the volatility of one of the main characters, Henry , the complex relationships between them, and the gripping, weaving storyline.

3. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

I found my copy in a second-hand bookstore, battered and dog-eared, and apparantly very well traveled – it even visited Paris at one point as the inscriptions on the inside front cover show. I was enchanted by the book, and even more so when I sat down to read it. A stunning read, very original. And no, I haven’t watched the film.

4. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

This has to be one of my absolute favourite books ever! I have read and re-read this book countless times over the years – one of the only ones I have visited time and time again. Atticus Finch remains one of the best-loved characters in literature in my opinion,and rightly so.

5. One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey

When I first bought this book as a cheap paperback, I never thought I would end up enjoying it ( I admit I only bought it for the rough sketches dotted throughout the novel which I found intriguing). How wrong I was. A fascinating read into the world of Randle Patrick McMurphy, and the tyrannical Nurse Ratched, and life inside an Oregon mental asylum.

6. The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas

A riveting, and controversial read by the Australian author Christos Tsiolkas. Focusing on the issues arising from the main event of a man slapping a child that is not his at a suburban barbeque, the story is told from the various viewpoints of the different characters present, exploring each’s feelings and opinions.

7. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

I recently read this, and thoroughly enjoyed it. I still can’t believe this is her one and only novel, it is a beautiful read, if at times a little depressing, but very well-worth it!

8. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova

I read this years ago, and remains one of my favourite ‘vampire’ novels, even though technically it doesn’t fall into the ‘horror’ genre as much as it is a work of literature, with many having best described as an ‘eerie tale’. This had me gripped from the beginning, and is an interesting blend of  history, mystery, horror, and plain good fiction.

9. Watership Down by Richard Adams

Watership Down – one of those books I had totally forgotten about until I was forced to cast my memory back for this blogpost! I read this when I was 15, and totally fell in love with Fiver, Hazel, Bigwig, Bluebell and friends. The story, despite the ‘human-ised’ rabbit storyline is incredibly believeable, gripping, and yes, heartbreaking.

10. Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson

Where would I be without Treasure Island….? This book inspired my love of adventures and far away places, and like Gulliver’s Travels, made me believe in other worlds, incredible characters, and a love of a good story. May have to revisit this sometime soon!

8 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Best Debut Novels”

  1. Andrea February 2, 2011 at 2:20 am #

    You have some great books on the list. I also included HP in my list. However, I also loved The Lovely Bones, The Historian, and To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Reading Lark’s Top 10

    • Miss K February 4, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      Love your Reading List too – have had a look at a few and have discovered so many books I want to read! These are all great books – each uniquely different but with so much to offer 🙂

  2. superjessleong February 2, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    ahh to kill a mocking bird! that was a great book! i rememebr reading that in high school and we did a big project on that! much fun!

    • Miss K February 4, 2011 at 12:16 am #

      I think I may have come across it in high school first as well, but didn’t really appreciate it until I was an adult!

  3. debnance at readerbuzz February 2, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    Hope to read Kidnapped by Stevenson later this year; Treasure Island was fabulous. I will check into The Slap. Interesting.

    Here’s my list of my ten favorite debut books: http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2011/02/top-ten-best-debut-books.html

    • Miss K February 4, 2011 at 12:13 am #

      The Slap is definitely a good read, I highly recommend it. You also have a great list of books!

  4. Nathan Marcello Rotunda February 5, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I haven’t read #2 and #6. I’ll have to check them out.

    • Miss K February 8, 2011 at 3:22 am #

      Definetely! Let me know what you think 🙂

Leave a Reply

