Jack Kerouac – Words of Wisdom and Inspiration

26 Jan

As those of you who personally know me are too well aware of, Jack Kerouac is my favourite writer. Actually, that’s an understatement – I absolutely idolise the man and his work, and was thrilled to bits when I found Atop an Underwood, Early Stories and Other Wrtings in a hole-in-the-wall bookshop yesterday. But what caught my eye about this particular book, besides the fact it contains a lot of his early work which I haven’t read ( so exciting) is the quote on the back cover. Being someone who often writes, and struggles with the whole process – from ideas, to fleshing out the story, to worrying about whether my characters and their dramas are believeable ( or not), I found the following inspiring, and hope that when doubts, writer’s block, and discouragement strike, that we can take heart from the following, and know that despite the odds, we can do it!

” Remember above all things, Kid, that to write is not difficult, not painful, that is comes out of you with ease, that you can whip up a little tale in no time, that when you are sincere about it, that when you want to impress a truth, it is not difficult, not painful, but easy,graceful, full of smooth power, as if you were a writing machine with a store of literature that is boundless, enormous, endless, and rich. For it is true; this is so. Do not forget it in your gloomier moments. Make your stuff warm, drive it home American-wise, don’t mind critics, don’t mind the stuffy academic theses of scholars, they don’t know what they are talking about, they’re way off the track, they’re cold; you’re warm, you’re red-hot, you can write all day, you know what you know….”.

4 Responses to “Jack Kerouac – Words of Wisdom and Inspiration”

  1. Claire January 26, 2011 at 11:13 pm #

    I absolutely love that quote – thank you for posting it!

  2. Miss K January 27, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    It is very inspirational, I hope it helps you 🙂 Btw, I read your latest post – so glad to see that I’m not the only one that thinks Michael McIntyre is hilarious!

  3. Alex L. January 27, 2011 at 4:52 am #

    That’s a fantastic quote. I first read Kerouac last year (“On the Road”, of course) and it was one of those books that just fit hand-and-glove into what I was thinking about at that time. I wrote about that experience too (http://historyjournal.org/2010/05/04/on-the-road-by-jack-kerouac/). My Twitter account is @NotEnoughNight, which actually comes from a quote from “On the Road”.

    Ok, time to end my shameless self-promotions.

    • Miss K January 28, 2011 at 12:15 am #

      ‘On the Road’ is indeed a fantastic book – the first time I read it was an eye-opening experience to many things – mainly because I was ‘on the road’ myself. Have you read much of his work since then? If not, try Doctor Sax, it’s a brilliant read. Had a look at your essay, I always enjoy reading other people’s opinions on the same work I’ve liked myself – and lol to shameless self promotion – if you don’t do it, no one else will!

Leave a Reply

