Top Ten Books I Wish I Read As A Kid

25 Jan

I have discovered this fabulous new ‘ challenge’ on The Broke and The Bookish, where a different topic is chosen every Tuesday, and participants must come up with their Top Ten for that particular topic. So I have decided to participate, and make Top Ten Tuesday a regular part of my blog posts, beginning with today.

The topic chosen is Top Ten Books I Wish I Read As A Kid, so here is my list:

1. The Harry Potter Series – JK Rowling

Reading these as an adult was an amazing reading experience – I love each and every one of the books in the series, but I think reading them a child ( if they had been around back then) would have been 10 times better.

2. The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien

I recently read The Hobbit over Christmas, and while I enjoyed it, having seen The Lord of the Rings Movies, and knowing that a movie is being made about The Hobbit has sort of killed the magic for me as an adult. Reading it through the innocent eyes of a child would have been made the experience special.

3. Miffy – Dick Bruna

I used to watch Miffy on TV as a child, but didn’t know that Miffy was also a series of books until I came across them in a bookstore in Amsterdam last week. They are so simple, but incredibly charming, and with the loud block colours and cute illustrations, I think I would have loved Miffy if I discovered it back then.

4. The BFG  – Roald Dahl

I spent most of my childhood reading and re-reading Roald Dahl’s stories, namely Matilda, The Witches, and James and The Giant Peach, but somehow the BFG is the one that I missed out on, and didn’t get a chance to read it until I was in my early 20’s. It is such a lovely story, I think it’s one of his best.

5. Gulliver’s Travels – Jonathan Swift

I remember being given this book as a child but let it gather dust over the years without bothering to read it, until I saw the TV movie in my teens, and was totally charmed by the story of Gulliver, and his amazing adventures into the world of Lilliput, Laputa ,Glubbdubdrib, and other unpronounceable, fictional places. This is one of the books where I discovered my love for far-flung places, magic, and fantasy, and is still one of my favourites.

6. The Princess Bride -William Goldman

I am currently reading this at the moment, and would have loved to have read it as a child. While some would beg to differ that the story is not suitable for children, what’s not to love about princesses, sword fights, giants, poisonings, murder, adventure, and true love?

7. The Mr Men Series – Robert Hargreaves

This is one of those series of books that I knew about forever, but never got a chance to read as a child. I love all the Mr Men now, and even have a small collection of figurines. Mr Messy is a Mr. Men after my own heart.

8. Green Eggs and Ham – Dr Seuss

Ditto for this one as above. I enjoyed The Cat in the Hat, Where’s My Mother, and Horton Hears a Who, but Green Eggs and Ham evaded me until last year.

9. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Jules Verne

I read Round the World in 80 Days as 7 year old, but this never made it onto my list until very recently.

10. Superfudge  – Judy Blume

A childhood favourite of my brother, I didn’t actually pick it up and read it until I was in my early 20’s. Interestingly enough, I did read the book which Superfudge is a sequel too, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing.

4 Responses to “Top Ten Books I Wish I Read As A Kid”

  1. Magnificent Minimalist January 26, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Somehow I’ve never read BFG either, and I love Dahl.

    • Miss K January 26, 2011 at 1:01 am #

      Maybe because his other works are better well known, and it hasn’t been turned into a movie! His books for adults are quite good aswell.

  2. superjessleong January 26, 2011 at 3:03 am #

    i still read some of them 😀 loove fantasy books x)

  3. Enbrethiliel January 26, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    +JMJ+

    I got to read Superfudge when I was younger and really loved it! But I didn’t read Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing or any of the other Fudge books.

    Harry Potter has made a lot of lists!

Leave a Reply

