He stole my heart…..

21 Jan

I have a a huge crush on John Mayer. And the weird thing is, I have only developed this out-of-proportion obsession within the last 48 hours. Never have I heard such smooth vocals, such inspiring lyrics, such perfect guitar riffs. It’s interesting that I have been aware of his music for years, but it has only been now that I have sat up and really taken notice. And it all began so innocently, in a New York Pizza ( the original!) parlor in Amsterdam. I was sitting innocently at a table, just having been served my slice, staring out the window at the many people strolling past, barely registering the sound of the stereo in the background. Until John Mayer came on. And stole my heart. The song that sparked it was ‘Bigger than my Body’. Until then, I had never actually paid the lyrics much attention, had heard but not listened to what they where actually saying, but now it was as if the song was speaking directly to me, to my life and for my life. But when he sang the following lines – ‘Someday I’ll fly, Someday I’ll soar, Someday I’ll be something much more…’  my world opened up, light beams fell from the sky, birds sang, the earth shook. Obviously, I am being dramatic, but I couldn’t get the song out of my head, I nearly ran out of the shop to find a computer and download it as quickly as possible to my iPod – I had to get my fix. Other songs have followed since then – ‘ I Don’t Trust Myself ( With Loving You), Daughters, Half Of My Heart, and Free Fallin’ have become favourites. Some may find it hard to understand, it might not be to your taste. But for me, at least for the moment, I am enjoying his music. And now I must dash, John Mayer calls.

4 Responses to “He stole my heart…..”

  1. Alex L. January 21, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    I too am prone to being ecstatically enthusiastic over a song after really hearing its lyrics.

    When (if) you get your fill of Mr. Mayer, check these out on YouTube and listen to the lyrics, if you haven’t heard them already:
    “Hallelujah” sung by Jeff Buckley
    “The Temptation of Adam” by Josh Ritter

  2. LilMissKaty January 21, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    I’m exactly the same! My ‘music crush’ of this week is a young man called Frank Turner. Check him out if you get time 🙂 Alex is most certainly right with Jeff Buckley too, there are a few amazing versions of Hallelujah, have to say Rufus Wainwright is my fave!

  3. Miss K January 22, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Thanks guys, will definitely check out Frank Turner and Josh Ritter – my John Mayer crush is starting to get out of control and need to listen to something else to balance it out lol. I have heard Jeff Buckley’s Hallelujah…it is such a haunting and amazing song, but I think it deserves a re-visit! 🙂

  4. asta199 January 22, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    I have had a long term love affair with Nick Cave since I was about 13. I own all of his albums and have his books of lyrics. Like all long term relationships, sometimes I neglect him because life gets in the way, but then I always come back to him and fall in love all over again. Enjoy your crush, because how boring would life be if we didn’t fall in love.

Leave a Reply

