I want to be remembered…

10 Jan

I want to be remembered for the person I am. Simply for the person I am. It seems too easy to want to be remembered for the things we have accomplished, the things we have done, for the jobs we have slaved at, or for the money we have made and accumulated. I want to be remembered for the pure and simple reasons.

I want to be remembered as the friend who offered you a shoulder to cry on when the times were tough, and the mate who made you laugh, the friend who held your hair back when you were sick, listened to and kept all your secrets, encouraged and believed in you when nobody else did. I want to be remembered for the good times, the bad times, the fun times, the sad times, the random times, the crazy times, the times we were together.

I want to be remembered as the lover who accepted you for who you are, the one who didn’t worry whether you were cool enough, or smart enough, or the person you thought you should be. I want to be remembered as the one who said ‘ I heart you’, only to hear you whisper back ‘I heart you too’.

I want to be remembered as the daughter who celebrated every milestone of our lives together – birthdays, Christmas, holidays ,marriages and births, and those days that were special just because we spent them, together. The one who listened, the one who loved you without condition, the one who always came home to make sure you were safe.

I want to be remembered as the sister who cared, who would pick you up to scrape the grit from your knees when you fell, who told bed time stories and counted sheep with you through the endless deep-dark nights; who stood up for you in the playground when the other kids laughed; who dried all your tears, who told you ‘ It really is going to be alright’.

These are the things I want to be remembered for.

One Response to “I want to be remembered…”

  1. asta199 January 11, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    what a beautiful post. I think you summed up what a lot of people feel in regards to how they will be remembered. I think I just want to be remembered as a creative, loving energy. Cheers for buddying me back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

