Q: Are you stressed out right now? A: Yes!!

5 Jan

This question seems to me to be quite timely. See, I am stressed out right now. VERY stressed out. So stressed out in fact that I have eaten 3 bowls of chocolate ice -cream, paced up and down in my living room, chatted to my mates about random things on Facebook, and procrastinated to within an inch of my life. My predicament? Booking a holiday / mini-break to Europe. For Next Friday.

I currently have my laptop open, obviously writing this post, but next to the WordPress tab on my browser, I also have another 20 or so tabs open to such places as Amsterdam. Paris. Belfast. Not to mention EasyJet, RyanAir, HostelBookers, HostelWorld….they’ve all taken up residence on my screen. I have been ‘planning’ this break for two months – and when I say planning, I mean it in the loosest definition of the word. To put it more correctly, I have ‘known’ about this trip for two months. And have spent countless hours day-dreaming of destinations, activities, museum visits ,even what I will eat. And now that the day-dream is about to become a reality, I find I cannot bring myself to book it. Not because I don’t like to travel. Travel is my life-blood, and is something that I have a great love and passion for. It’s all the fiddly bits that come before it that I feel I just can’t be bothered with – the checking of airline prices and dates, do they match up with my time-frames? Looking for a place to stay – is my chosen accomodation close to what I want to see and where I want to go? More importantly, does the bathroom look clean? And then there is the dreaded Airport Transport. I don’t know if I’m the only out there, but getting to a foreign airport, and not having an absolute clue where I am going or how I am going to get there, totally and absolutely throws me. I have had many an experience of getting to the airport, asking anyone and everyone who will listen where could I catch the taxi / bus / train / transfer which the guide-book assured me was as easy-as-done as soon as I made an appearance with my 20kg bag in tow?

But before you think I am nothing but a whiner and complainer, I must go through all this to reap the rewards of travel, the thrill of which I ultimately live for. The thrill of getting on the plane to a new destination, not knowing what awaits me but knowing that it will be an experience to cherish, that first view of land glimpsed between patchy cloud cover, the excitement of walking among a new culture, a new people, the sights, the sounds, the smells! The smile that is permanently plastered across my face, and the sensation of freedom as I walk among the locals, inspired by people and places, is something I wouldn’t trade for all the riches of this world.

So now I guess it’s time to go back to the drawing-board, or in this case, my computer screen. The tabs are still open and glowing at me, waiting for me to make my final decision. But now I have reminded myself why I put myself through the pain, I hope that booking this trip will be all the smoother.

( Image: http://www.flickr.com/photos/40152966@N03/galleries/72157623070926667#photo_2129589191)

Leave a Reply

