Sweet lil’ countries on the shelf…which ones do I choose?

1 Jan

Asking a question like this of a lover of travel like me, is like asking a small child to choose only 3 sweets in a candy store!  But having considered the question, I have ( reluctantly) come up with the top three countries I would love to visit – keeping in mind that I am now living and settled in the United Kingdom, and have the whole of Europe at my doorstep. For this reason I have only focused on this part of the world – I am hoping to be able to plan travels to these countries within the first 6 months of 2011, so this blog post will act as my inspiration!

1. France

What is there not to love about France? From the romantic and atelier vibe of Paris, to the rustic and tranquil beauty of the south of France and the Pyreenes, to the glamor and glitz  of St Tropez and the French Riviera, France seems have it all. Culture. History. Art. Fashion. Romance. And while I would love to travel through the whole of France, if I could only choose one destination, Paris would be It. I dream of walking down the streets of Paris, window shopping, observing the people, sitting in quaint little cafes, and oh! the food! The French seem to call national cuisine all of my favorite foods…the cheese, the pastries, the baguettes, 3 course meals, dessert ! And those beautiful fresh food markets I have heard so much about….and quaint bookstores ( Shakespeare and Co. wins hands-down)  and quirky hole-in-the-wall treasure troves scattered about the city ( Deyrolle is supposedly one of the quirkier stores around -an ode to taxidermy ) . And then there is the aforementioned culture and history and art museums (  living out my own Night At The Museum at The Louvre  -sigh) , and above all, that beautiful tower ever present in the distance.

2. Iceland

Ever since I came across Norse mythology as a child, I have been fascinated by the distant little country that is Iceland. Coming from Australia,I hadn’t really heard of  Iceland  touted as a must-see tourist destination until very recently – must be something about the weather and the amount of distance needed to travel, and of course, that Volcanic Eruption. That has hardly put me off  wanting to visit this beautiful and mysterious country of giants, fairies, and ghouls- from the cosmopolitan Reykjavik, to the Blue Lagoon, whale watching, horse-trekking, volcano climbing, puffin-spotting and that ever-present hope to catch  a glimpse of those stunning Northern Lights.  And Iceland is the only country in the world to house the fascinating-but-funny Phallological Museum. Take a look – if you dare.

3. Austria

Austria. Another European hot-spot for culture, art, and history. And Music. Classical ( Beethoven and Mozart are both close to my heart) , opera, and the thriving underground electronic / house / dance music scene in Vienna is where the appeal ( mostly) lies for me. Spending days wandering from one musical event to the other would be my idea of heaven, from a symphony performance to a bass-thumping club night.  And my trip wouldn’t be complete with a visit to the Haus der Musik – the innovative, interactive Museum of Music, and spending a few hours wandering the Zentralfriedhoff – the burial place of many a well known composer, including Beethoven, Schubert, and Brahms. The other significant appeal of Austria is Salzberg – and with that comes The Sound Of Music, Mozart, and all things romantic baroque. Spending a night in Villa Von Trapp, which has now opened it’s doors to the public for overnight stays, would be a classic experience in itself. Beauty!

Copyright: Quoted from: http://www.hongkiat.com/blog.80-exceptionally-beautiful….paris/

2 Responses to “Sweet lil’ countries on the shelf…which ones do I choose?”

  1. mltucker January 1, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Visit them all, and more! Happy 2011!
    Mary Louise

    • Miss K January 2, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      Thank you! Happy 2011 to you too!

Leave a Reply

